Bangabandhu Nat’l Football C’ship

Ten-team final round in March

Sports Correspondent

17 February, 2020 12:00 AM printer

The ten-team final round of Bangabandhu National Football Championship 2020 will begin from the first week of March.

Ten teams, split into two groups, will lock horns at two different venues. The decision was made in a meeting of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Tournament Organizing Committee, chaired by its President Harun Ur Rashid, at BFF house in the capital on Sunday.

BFF President Kazi Md Salahuddin was also present in the meeting.   

This year a total of seventy eight teams, including sixty three districts, three services teams, six public universities, five education boards and Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan (BKSP), split into nine zones namely Padma, Meghna, Jamuna, Shitalakshya, Brahmaputra, Buriganga, Chitra, Surma and Service competed in zonal phase of the meet, which held from January 17 to February 9.

Service zone Champions BKSP and Runners-up Army reached the final round of meet along with eight other zonal champions namely Chitra Zone Champions Satkhira, Buriganga Zone Champions Khulna, Brahmaputra Zone Champions Rangpur, Padma zone Champions Cumilla, Meghna zone Champions Netrakona, Surma Zone Champions Sylhet,  Shitalakshya zone Champions Pabna and Jamuna zone Champions Chattogram.