Gully Boy wins big at Indian Filmfare Awards

17 February, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Gully Boy wins big at Indian Filmfare Awards

The 65th Amazon Filmfare Awards 2020 were held on February 15 in Assam, India. This was the first edition of the award show which was held outside Mumbai. The who’s who of Bollywood graced the event by their presence and dressed their sartorial best, report agencies.

The event was hosted by Karan Johar, Varun Dhawan and Vicky Kaushal. Zoya Akhtar’s directorial ‘Gully Boy’ emerged as big winner of the night. The film bagged several awards including the most coveted Best Film.

While the lead duo of Ranveer Sing and Alia Bhatt won the Best Male and Female Actor Awards respectively, the director of the flick Zoya Akhtar was awarded Best Director.

'Gully Boy' - a film that revolved around music as a profession also bagged the award for the Best Music Album of the year which it shared with Sandeep Reddy Vanga's 'Kabir Singh'. Both the supporting role awards also went to 'Gully Boy' with Amruta Subhash bagging it in the female category and Siddhant Chaturvedi getting it in the male category. Other major awards that the film received at the event include Best Screenplay, Best Lyrics, and Best Dialogue.

'Gully Boy' is inspired by the lives of Mumbai street rappers Vivian Fernandes aka Divine and Naved Shaikh aka Naezy. The film revolves around the underground rap movement in India and all the songs of the film have become extremely popular.

'Gully Boy' was produced by Ritesh Sidhwani and Farhan Akhtar under the Excel Entertainment banner in association with Tiger Baby. The film was India’s official entry to the 92nd edition of Oscars.


Filmfare Awards’ winners list

Best Film: Gully Boy

Best Director: Zoya Akhtar (Gully Boy)

Best Film (Critics): Article 15 (Anubhav Sinha)

and Sonchiriya (Abhishek Chaubey)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male): Ranveer Singh (Gully Boy)

Best Actor (Critics): Ayushmann Khurrana (Article 15)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female): Alia Bhatt (Gully Boy)

Best Actress (Critics): Bhumi Pednekar (Saand Ki Aankh)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female): Taapsee (Saand Ki Aankh) and Amruta Subhash (Gully Boy)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male): Siddhant Chaturvedi (Gully Boy)

Best Lyrics: Divine and Ankur Tewari- Apna Time Aayega, Gully Boy

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh...Kalank Nahi...Kalank

Best Playback Singer (Female): Shilpa Rao...Ghungroo...War

Best Debut Director: Aditya Dhar - Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Debut Actor: Abhimanyu Dassani

Best Debut Actress: Ananya Pandey

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ramesh Sippy.