Monday, 16 May, 2022

JUTA gets new body

  • JU Correspondent
  • 28 January, 2020 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The 15-member executive committee of Jahangirnagar University Teachers’ Association (JUTA) was formed with Prof. A A Mamun of Physics department as President and Prof. Md. Amzad Hossen of Economics department as General Secretary for the next one year.

Chief Election Commissioner Prof. AKM Abul Kalam of Urban and Regional Planning department, announced the polls results on Monday in the evening.

Prof Sayed Hafizur Rahman of Environmental Science department, Associate Prof Burhan Uddin of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology department and Prof Md. Motahar Hossen of  Institute of Business Administration (IBA)were elected vice-president, joint secretary and treasurer respectively.

The other executive members of the body are Prof Monuar Hossen of Zoology department, Associate Prof Umme Saika of Geography and Environment department, Prof Ismot Ara of Zoology department,  Associate Prof Mahfuja Khatun of Finance and Banking department,  Assistant Prof Md. Fakhrul Islam of Pharmacy department, Prof Bashir Ahmed of Government and Politics department, Prof Ahmed Reza of English department, Associate Prof Hosne Ara of History department, Associate Prof Hussain Md. Sayem of Geological Science department and Prof Mahbub Kabir of Chemistry department.

Earlier, a total of 560 teachers out of 598 exercised their franchise at the polls held in the university’s teachers’ club. The voting started from 9am and continued till 1:30pm without any break.

Mentionable, the VC-backed teachers contested the polls under the banner of “Bangabandhu Shikkhak Parishad” while the anti-VC platform, an alliance of pro-Awami League, pro-BNP and left-leaning teachers is named “Sammilito Sikkhak Samaj”.

Out of 15 posts, the VC-backed teachers’ panel won nine including president, vice-president and treasurer while the anti VC teachers’ panel won six posts including secretary and joint secretary.