Shana wins top BSPA award

Sports Correspondent

25 January, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Shana wins top BSPA award

Winners of the ‘KOOL-BSPA Sports Award-2019’ pose for a photograph at Pan Pacific Sonargaon in the capital on Friday. — SUN Photo

Bangladesh’s premier Archer Mohammed Ruman Shana clinched the KOOL-BSPA Best Player of the Year’2019 award as he was selected as the best sportsman of the year in 2019 for winning three gold medals in 13th South Asian Games in Nepal on December and for securing a spot for the Tokyo Olympics’2020 from the World Archery Championship in the Netherlands on June.

The archer also clinched the KOOL-BSPA Popular Choice’2019 and the Best Archer of the Year’2019 awards. 

Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) handed over the awards to Shana in a programme held at Pan Pacific Sonargaon on Friday. Managing Director of Square Toiletries Ltd Anjan Chowdhury and International Sports Press Association (AIPS), Asia President Sattam Alsaheli were present on the occasion as the ‘Guests of Honour’.

Shana was nominated for the best player award along with cricket all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and national football team captain Jamal Bhuiyan. All three star athletes – Ruman, Shakib and Jamal — were also nominated for the popular choice award along with South Asian Games gold medalists — karate player Marzan Akter Priya, weightlifter Mabia Akhter Simanta and fencer Fatima Mujib.

Other awards:

Best Cricket of the Year 2019: Shakib Al Hasan

Best Footballer of the Year 2019: Jamal Bhuiyan

Best Coach: Martin Frederick, Head Coach of Bangladesh archery

Best Weightlifter of the Year 2019: Mabia Akhter Simanta

Best Karate Player of the Year 2019: Humayra Akter Antara

Best Fencer of the Year 2019: Fatima Mujib

Best Taekwondo of the Year 2019: Dipu Chakma

Promising Athlete:  Eti Khatun (Archery)

Best Sports Organizer of the Year 2019: Kazi Rajib Uddin Ahmed Chapal, General Secretary of Bangladesh Archery Federation Grassroots Level Sports Personalities of the Year: Athletics coach Rafiqullah Akhter Milon of  Noakhali and football coach Tajul Islam of Thakurgaon

Best Sponsors of the Year 2019: City Group

Special Honour: Former Kabaddi player Abdul Jalil