Khulna clinch NCL crown

Sports Correspondent

20 November, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Khulna regained the supremacy of the country’s first-class cricket and also became the most successful division as they became champion of the National Cricket League for a record seventh time Tuesday.

Khulna, who won three back-to-back titles from 2015-2016 to 2017-2018, surpassed six-time winner Rajshahi, the champion of previous edition, on the same day when the latter were relegated to tier two with a defeat against Rangpur.

Khulna vs Dhaka

Khulna needed just a draw in the final round at their home ground Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium but on the final day Ziaur Rahman’s five-for bundled Dhaka out for 216 leaving a target of 117 runs.

Khulna opener Anamul Haque scored 79 off just 76 balls not only to ensure an emphatic nine-wicket win but also become the second man behind Dhaka’s Taibur Rahman to score over 500 runs in the tournament.

Dhaka, the runners-up of the tournament, who resumed on 102/5, made a good start in the last day but the collapse started when their overnight batsman Raqibul Hasan was run out on 99 leaving the team on 211/6.

Khulna batsman’s Nurul Hasan became the man of the match for his undying 150 innings in their first innings that saw Khulna took the lead of 100 runs before Dhaka started their second innings.

As Dhaka managed to put 216 runs on the board losing their all wickets, Khulna reached the target on the final day losing just one wicket at Sheikh Abu Naser


Apart from Nurul, Dhaka batsman Taibur Rahman scored a hundred in the first innings.

Sylhet vs Chattogram

Chattogram Division suffered their second defeat in the tournament as Sylhet leading the tier-1 table with their third victory of nine wickets at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura.

Ruyel Miah, Sylhet bolwer took a total of 13 wickets combining both the innings as he eventually named man of the match at the end of round-6 in the NCL.

Ruyel saw another five wicket haul in the second innings that pushed Chattogram Division back to capitalise any strong total in both the second innings as his 8-wicket haul earlier on the first innings forced Chattogram to collapse at 106.

As Khulna took a 124 runs lead with their 230 runs total after their first innings, needed just 45 runs to seal their third victory from tier-2.

Rangpur vs Rajshahi

At Shahid Kamruzzaman Stadium, Rangpur sealed a 155 runs victory over Rajshahi Division as the host division found their first win after the six rounds of the longer version tournament.

Rangpur fast medium bowler who took three wickets in the second innings to secure their victory, managed to bag 9-wicket in the four-day match as he took six wickets earlier in the first innings.

Earlier, on day one, Sohrawordi Shuvo scored 105 runs for Rangpur Division in their first innings.

Barishal vs Dhaka Metro

Fazle Mahmud, the Barishal Division one-down batsman won the man of the match award as the four-day match between Barishal and metropolis ended in a draw at Barishal Division Stadium.

Fazle scored 141 runs in their first innings while, Shamsur Rahman and Marshal Ayub also scored hundred for Metro in their first innings.