Jubo League expels office secretary

Staff Correspondent

12 October, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Jubo League expels office secretary

Jubo League, the youth wing of the ruling Awami League, has expelled its office secretary Kazi Anisur Rahman for amassing a large amount of money illegally.

He was expelled at a presidium meeting of Jubo League held at its Bangabandhu Avenue headquarters in the capital on Friday.

Kazi Anis became a millionaire from a peon at the Jubo League office. The issue of his corruption came to light after launching of a drive against corruption and irregularities.

The Jubo League presidium meeting was held without its chairman, Omar Farooque Chowdhury. Chaired

by its general secretary Harunur Rashid, the meeting discussed the upcoming national congress and contemporary issues.

Jubo League presidium member Sheikh Atiar Rahman Dipu said the decision of expulsion of Kazi Anis was unanimously taken at the meeting.

Another presidium member, BM Amzad Hossain, said, “Kazi Anis was expelled from the party due to embezzlement of money and a graft allegation that was brought against him.”

However, the new office secretary is yet to be decided.

Sources said Omar Farooque Chowdhury refrained from joining the presidium meeting following imposition of an official travel ban on him and the central bank’s inquiry into his bank accounts.

Regarding absence of Omar Farooque at the meeting, Dipu said he didn’t know the reason of chairman’s absence, but claimed the meeting was held with his consent.

Replying to a query whether the chairman has lost the moral ground for staying at his post, he said, “Only party chief Sheikh Hasina can take a decision in this regard,” he said, adding that she would decide about the person who would preside over the council session slated for November 23.

Jubo League presidium members Shaid Serniabat, Sheikh Shamsul Abedin, Altaf Hossain Bachchu, Sirajul Islam Mollah, Mojibur Rahman Chowdhury, Farooq Hossain, Mahbubur Rahman Hiron, Abdus Sattar Masud, Ataur Rahman, Belal Hossain, Abul Bashar, Mohammad Ali Khokon, Anwarul Islam and Nihil Ghuha, among others, were present at the meeting.