Khokon elected JCD president, Shamol secy

Staff Correspondent

20 September, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Khokon elected JCD president, Shamol secy

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD), the student wing of BNP, got its president and general secretary elected through direct balloting on Wednesday night.

Fazlur Rahman Khokon and Iqbal Hossain Shamol were elected JCD president and general secretary respectively.

BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas, on behalf of the party acting chairman Tarique Rahman, announced the results early Thursday after the voting took place at his Shahjahanpur residence.

A total of 481 councillors cast votes to elect their leaders from the nine aspirants vying for the post of the president and 19 for the post of the general secretary in the sixth council session of the JCD.

Khokon won the presidency through a tight competition bagging 186 votes while his opponent Kazi Rownakul Islam Shrabon received 178 votes.

Shamol bagged 139 votes and won the post of general secretary against his opponent Zakirul Islam’s 74 votes.

Expressing their gratitude to BNP Acting Chairman Tarique Rahman for holding a direct voting to elect JCD leadership, the new president and general secretary said they would try their best to release BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia from jail and 'restore' democracy in the country.

Fazlur Rahman Khokon said, “Our first challenge is to free Khaleda Zia from jail. We will establish democracy in the country through her release as well as ensure rights of the countrymen.”

Meanwhile, pledging to organise and strengthen JCD in the universities of the country, Shamol said, “The students of the Dhaka University failed to exercise their franchise in the Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU) polls.  We will work to ensure the rights of the student of the university.”

Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, the student body of BNP, held polls for electing its president and general secretary after 27 years in line with a court injunction regarding its council.

The voting began at BNP leader Mirza Abbas’ house around 8:40pm and continued until 12:30am. Several hundred JCD councillors from its 117 units across the country gathered there to vote.

Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary of JCD through direct voting in 1992.The JCD’s last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary, and it was dissolved on June 3

It was the first time in 27 years that the JCD held direct voting to elect its leadership. Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and M Ilias Ali were elected president and general secretary respectively of JCD through the last direct voting in 1992. Out of 534 councilors of Chhatra Dal’s 117 units across the country, 481 cast their ballots.

BNP held the balloting to elect the president and general secretary of its student body through a democratic process overcoming various obstacles, the party leaders claimed.

Earlier, the councillors who were selected for sixth council of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) were asked to reach Dhaka within 4:00pm on Wednesday in an emergency call.