Sunday, 5 December, 2021

Women’s T20 WCQ

Bangladesh emerge unbeaten champions

Bangladesh Women’s Cricket team were crowned champions with an all-win record beating Thailand by 70 runs in the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers at the Forthill in Dundee, Scotland on Saturday.

Both finalists of the eight-team tournament, Bangladesh and Thailand, had earlier earned the right to play in the final round of the upcoming ten-team ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 scheduled February-March in Australia.

Asian Champions Bangladesh played the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup final thrice — in 2014 in Bangladesh, 2016 in India and in 2018 in the West Indies while Thailand Women’s made their first ever final round berth as the runners-up of qualifying round.

 Tigresses clinched their first ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier title beating Ireland by 25 runs in Netherlands on July 14 in 2018 while Bangladesh booked a seat for the World Cup final round as runners-up after conceding a 2-wicket defeat against the Ireland in Thailand on December 5 in 2015.

Chasing a target of 131 runs, Thailand restricted at 60 runs for 7 in stipulated 20 overs to concede their first defeat in the qualifying meet.

Tail-ender Ratanaporn Padunglerd scored the team highest 15 runs while number five batsman Wongpaka Liengprasert added 11 runs, were the notable scorer for Thailand reaching the doubles figures.

Spinners Nahida Akter and Shaila Sharmin bagged two wickets each conceding 17 and 9 runs respectively for Bangladesh while captain Salma Khatun and Khadija Tul Kubra picked up one wicket each.

Earlier, a brilliant half century by Sanjida Islam enabled Bangladesh Women’s Cricket team to score 130 for 5 in stipulated 20 overs against Thailand Women’s Cricket team in the final at the Forthill in Dundee, Scotland on Saturday.