FIFA and AFC qualifiers

Bangladesh to face Qatar, Oman, India and Afghanistan

Sports Correspondent

18 July, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh to face Qatar, Oman, India and Afghanistan

The draw of Qatar 2022 FIFA and AFC qualifiers Asian Region second round qualification was held at Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia on Wednesday. Bangladesh were drawn in Group E along with Oman, India, Afghanistan and Qatar. The second qualifying round with the 40 Nations will start on September 5.

The names of the country and their group after the draw are:

In the home and away basis Group E matches, Bangladesh will play Afghanistan on September 10 in Afghanistan, Qatar on October 10 in Bangladesh, India on October 15 in India, Oman on November 14 in Oman, Afghanistan on 26 March, 2020 in Bangladesh, Qatar on March 31 in Qatar, India on June 4 in Bangladesh and Oman on June 9 in Bangladesh.

At the end of round-2, the top sides from all eight groups, including the four best runners-up, will proceed to the third round of the World Cup Qualifiers. These 12 teams will also gain automatic qualification for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup.

The remaining four runners-up from the eight groups will earn a direct entry to the third round of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers.

The teams which finish third in their respective groups will also book a place in round-3 of the AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers along with the four best fourth-placed teams from all groups.

The other four fourth-placed teams and all the sides which finish bottom of their tables will start their 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers from the play-off round.

Since Qatar are the host nation for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, they gain automatic qualification and will not participate in the third round. If Bangladesh are able to finish runners-up behind Qatar in Group E, they will advance to round-3 of the qualifiers as group winners.

Group A: China, Syria, Filipino, Maldives and Guam.

Group B: Australia, Jordan, Chinese Taipei, Kuwait, Nepal

Group C: Iran, Iraq, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Cambodia

Group D: Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Palestine, Yemen, Singapore.

Group E: Bangladesh, Oman, India, Afghanistan, Qatar.

Group F: Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Myanmar, Mongolia

Group G: Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia

Group H: South Korea, Lebanon, North Korea, Turkmenistan, Sri Lanka.