BCB XI-Vidarbha match drawn | 2019-07-14

Mini Ranji Trophy

BCB XI-Vidarbha match drawn

Sports Desk

14 July, 2019 12:00 AM printer

BCB XI played out a draw against Vidarbha Cricket Association in their first match of Dr (captain) K Thimmappiah Memorial Tournament at Golden Oval in Bengaluru on Saturday.

The tournament, dubbed as ‘Mini Ronji Trophy’ is being organised by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

BCB XI set 323 runs as target for Vidarbha on fourth and the final day of the match after being all out for 175 in their second innings. Vidarbha scored 38 runs for a wicket in 14 overs before the bails were drawn, with opener R Sanjay unbeaten on 28.

Opener Saif Hasan was the highest scorer for BCB XI in the second innings with 47 runs. Wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan scored 26 while opener Jahurul Islam Omi made 25 runs.

BCB XI lost the wicket of Jahurul Islam in the first over, having started the day on 41 runs for 1 wicket. The visitors, looking for a positive result, played with an attacking mode but that didn’t go well for them as they lost wickets at regular intervals to be bowled out for a paltry target of 175 runs.

Atharva Deshpande claimed 4 wickets for 47 runs while Aditya Sarvate took 3 wickets for 36 runs.

Still the target was huge for Vidarbha as BCB XI gained a 147-run lead in the first innings.

As there was not much time, the match predictably ended up in a draw.  Medium pacer Ariful Haque took the only fallen wicket.

Earlier, BCB XI declared the first innings on 500 runs with 7 wickets, thanks to Mominul Haque’s 169 runs and Nazmul Hossain Shanto’s 118 runs.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam snapped up 8 wickets for 89 runs to dismantle Vidarbha as they were finally bowled out for 353 runs, handing BCB XI the crucial 147-run first innings lead.

The BCB XI will take on Dr DY Patil Cricket Academy in their next match, slated to commence on July 16.