BNP’s Siraj wins Bogura-6 by-election

25 June, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bogura: BNP candidate Golam Mohammad Siraj was unofficially declared elected in the by-election to Bogura-6 constituency on Monday, reports UNB.

Siraj begged 89,742 votes while his nearest rival T Zaman Niketa of Awami League polled 32,297, according to unofficial results of all the 141 centres.

Earlier, voting in the by-polls began at 9am and continued till 5pm without any break using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.