Selima Rahman, Tuku made BNP standing committee members

Staff Correspondent

20 June, 2019 12:00 AM printer

BNP has promoted its two vice chairmen — Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku and Selima Rahman — to members of the standing committee, the party’s highest policymaking body.

Party’s senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi came up with the announcement at a press conference at its central office in Nayapaltan of the capital on Wednesday.

After BNP’s national council session held on March 19 in 2016, the party announced the name of 17 standing committee members keeping two posts vacant.

Of the 17 standing committee members, ASM Hannan Shah, MK Anwar and Tariqul Islam died at different times.

Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hassan Mahmud were made vice-chairmen in the National Executive Committee of BNP after the sixth council session.

With the appointment of the two BNP leaders, the total number of the BNP standing committee members now has risen to 16.