Friday, 29 September, 2023

NYAB starts journey with new body

National Young Academy of Bangladesh (NYAB) started journey by forming an executive committee at its first annual general meeting at the Centre for Advanced Research in Sciences (CARS) in Dhaka University on Sunday.    

Prof Mohammed Abdul Basith (BUET) and Dr Ashraful Alam (NSU) were made president and secretary of the committee respectively, says a press release.         

Vice President of the Bangladesh Academy of Sciences Prof Naiyyum Choudhury was present at the meeting as the chief guest while eminent scientist Prof Haseena Khan as the guest of honour. 

UGC Prof Muhibur Rahman on behalf of the advisory committee and Dr Mahesh Kumar, chair of the Indian National Young Academy of Sciences, attended the meeting where on behalf of the Global Young Academy Co-chair Dr Koen Vermeir sent a video message.

The other office bearers of the executive body are Dr Atiar Rahman (CU) - vice president, Dr Sabrina M Elias (IUB) - treasurer, Prof ASB Tariq (RU), Prof Ahmed Imtiaj (RU), Dr Nova Ahmed (NSU), Dr ABMM Khademul Islam (DU) and Dr HM Manir Ahmad (Partex Star Group) - executive members. Prof M Manjurul Karim (DU) would be ex-officio President Emeritus as the convener of the ad hoc committee for its formation. 

The NYAB is the 41st national young academy in the world and the 4th in the subcontinent.