DU senate gets five student representatives

DU Correspondent

15 June, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Five student representatives have been nominated as senate members of Dhaka University.

Vice chancellor (VC) of the university Professor Md Akhtaruzzaman confirmed the news on Thursday afternoon.

They are Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) central president Rezwanul Huq Chowdhury Shovon who failed to win DUCSU poll for the position of vice president, BCL DU chapter president Sanjit Chandra Das who did not contest the poll, BCL central general secretary also Dhaka University Central Students' Union (DUCSU) general secretary Golam Rabbani, DUCSU member Tilottama Sikder and DUCSU’ vice president (VP) Nurul Huq Nur.

Meanwhile, DUCSU VP Nurul Haque Nur alleged that the BCL selected the student representatives without any formal meeting.

The DU senate meeting is scheduled to hold on June 26.

According to DU Ordinance 1973, article 20 (l), five representatives of the university should be nominated by the University Central Students’ Union but there was no clear instruction how to member to the selected.     

The DU senate consists of 105 members. Among them – the VC,  two pro-VCs, a treasurer, five government officials, five parliamentarians, and five distinguished educationists, five representatives from research bodies, five affiliated college principals, 10 affiliated college teachers, the Dhaka Education Board chairman, 25 representatives from registered graduates, 35 elected teachers, and five representatives from the DUCSU.