Budget session kicks off

Special Correspondent

12 June, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The 3rd session of the 11th parliament, known as the budget session, began Tuesday amid the participation of the treasury and opposition lawmakers.

The day’s business began at about 5:00pm with Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

This will be the first budget of the incumbent government led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina who assumed office after winning a landslide victory in the 30 December 2018 general election over the Bangladesh Nationalist Party-dominated Jatiya Oikya Front (JOF).

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal is set to place the proposed Tk5.23 trillion budget for 2019-2020 on June 13.

This will be his first budget presentation.

Earlier, the Business Advisory Committee, headed by the Speaker, decided to run the House till July 11 having two sittings on June 22 and June 29.

As per the decision, the House will sit at 3:00pm every day but the Speaker can change the time if needed. The committee members include the Leader of the House and Prime Minister

Sheikh Hasina, Raushon Ershad, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Obaidul Quader, Rashed Khan Menon, Hasanul Huq Inu, Fazle Rabbi Miah, Anisul Haque, Anisul Islam Mahmood and Nore-e Alam Chowdhury attended the meeting. 

The proposed budget will be passed on June 30.

At the beginning of the session, the Speaker nominated a five-member panel chairman to run the House in absence of the Speaker and deputy Speaker.

The panel members are Rafiqul Islam, AB Tajul Islam, Habibe Millat, Kazi Firoz Rashid and Meher Afroz.

Then the Speaker moved the condolence motion in the House at the death of five former MPs including a former minister. The House later unanimously adopted the resolution.

The dead are former minister and lawmaker Barrister M Aminul Islam, former lawmakers ABM Taleb Ali, Abdul Ali Mridha, freedom fighter M Abdul Mazid Master and freedom fighter AKM Bazlul Karim.

The House also expressed shock at the death of brother in law of Sheikh Rehana and former managing director of Machine Tools Factory Rafiq Ahmed Siddiq, eminent dramatist, director and actor Prof Mamtazuddin Ahmad, Ekushey Padak recipient Subir Nandi, Ekushey Padak recipient Poet Hayat Saif, Ekushey Padak recipient Nazrul singer and researcher Khalid Hossain, additional IGP died in Kongo in peacekeeping mission Roushan Ara, eminent comedian Anisur rahman, eminent actor Saleh Ahmed and actor Maya Ghosh.

The House also adopted a condolence motion at the death of several people in cyclone Fani, plane accident in Russia and various accidents in home and abroad.

A munajat seeking eternal peace of the departed souls was offered in the House. Ruling Party lawmaker Md Faridul Haque Khan of Jamalpur-2 conducted the munajat.

The members of the House also stood up and observed a one-minute solemn silence to pay respect to the memories of the dead.

This will be the 48th budget of the country and the 19th budget of the Awami League-led government.