Bogura By-poll

BNP nominates Khaleda, 4 others

Staff Correspondent

23 May, 2019 12:00 AM printer

BNP has given nomination papers to five of its leaders, including party chairperson Khaleda Zia for contesting Bogura-6 by-election.

“On behalf of Khaleda Zia and four local BNP leaders, nomination papers have been given from the party central office on Wednesday,” ABM Abdus Sattar, personal secretary to the BNP chairperson told the daily sun on Wednesday.

BNP sources said the party has given nomination to Bogura district unit convener Golam Mohammad Siraj, party chairperson’s adviser AKM Mahbubur Rahman, Bogura district BNP leaders Rejaul Karim Badshah and Joynal Abedin Chan for contesting the by-election.

They were given primary nomination of the party on Wednesday afternoon and they may submit nomination papers to the Returning Officer on Thursday, sources said.

 On, behalf of Khaleda Zia, GM Siraj will submit her nomination paper to the Returning Officer.

Earlier, the decision of giving nomination to five party leaders, including Khaleda Zia, was taken at a meeting of BNP leaders at the party central office at Nayapaltan in the capital on Tuesday afternoon.

BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman joined the meeting through video conference from London while Bogura district unit BNP leaders were present.

The Bogura 6 parliamentary seat fell vacant as BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as a member of parliament (MP) by April 30 this year.   

As per by-polls schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination paper is May 23 while the date for scrutiny of nomination paper is May 27 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 3, Election Commission sources said.