‘Zero tolerance on human trafficking’

Staff Correspondent

22 May, 2019 12:00 AM printer

State Minister for Foreign Affairs M Shahriar Alam on Tuesday said the government will not tolerate any illegal practices in the migration, as it has a zero-tolerance policy for illegal migration.

“We don’t encourage illegal migration,” he said at the Brac Migration Media Award 2018 ceremony held at Brac Centre Inn in the capital on Tuesday.

He also advised journalists to investigate and identify middlemen who were luring overseas jobseekers with false promises and leaving them in danger on illegal migration routes.

Thirteen journalists received the Brac Migration Media Award 2018 for their contributions in promoting and protecting the rights of migrants and their families.

An awards ceremony was arranged by Brac at its Dhaka headquarters on Tuesday to announce the winners in seven categories, including: print newspapers (national), print newspapers (local), television (news and program), radio, online news sites, and photography.

Md Wasim Uddin Bhuiyan from New Age, Parimal Palma from The Daily Star, and Arafat Ara from The Financial Express received the awards in the newspaper (national) category.

Shafi Chowdhury from Daily Jalalabad won for the newspaper (local) category; Independent Tv’s Mejbaul Haque, Bangla Vision’s Mizaj Uddin Gazi, and Channel 24’s Morshed Hasib Hasan won in television news; and Boni Islam of Independent TV won in television (program).

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Betar’s Mostafizur Rahman got the award in the radio category, and Priyo.com’s Imrul Kayes, bdnews24.com’s Abdullah Alif, and Bangla Tribune’s Saddif Sohrab Ovee won in the in online category. Additionally, Hasan Ahmed Chowdhruy Kiron won in the blog category.

Shahriar Alam handed over the prizes and cheques to the winners, while former Dhaka University vice-chancellor AAMS Arefin Siddique presented the keynote paper.

Rownaq Jahan, secretary of Ministry of Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment, Selim Reza, director general of the Bureau of Manpower, Employment and Training (BMET), and IOM chief Giorgi Gigauri were also present at the awards-giving ceremony.