Windies expose Tigers bowling fault lines | 2019-05-18 |

Windies expose Tigers bowling fault lines

Sports Desk

18 May, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Windies expose Tigers
bowling fault lines

Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman bowls against West Indies during their Tri-Nation Series final match at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Friday. - AFP PHOTO

West Indies openers Sunil Ambris and Shai Hope looked set to propel West Indies towards a big total in their Tri-nation Series final against Bangladesh before the rain came pounding down at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Friday.

Hope smashed an unbeaten 68-runs innings while Ambris scored 59 runs to take West Indies to 131 runs in 20.1 overs without losing any wickets before rain halted the encounter.

Both of the openers reached their fifties with the opening stand going past the 100-run mark. Cutter-Master Mustafizur Rahman was brought on to produce a breakthrough but proved to too expensive going for 36 runs in his 3 overs. He took most of the beating from Caribbean openers.

In his opening spell, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza bowled 6 overs conceding 28 runs while Young pacer all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin also took some hammering going for 29 runs in his 5-over opening spell.

Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Sabbir Rahman each bowled 2 overs while conceding 9, 16 and 12 runs respectively in their opening spell.

Bangladesh won the toss against West Indies and opted to bowl first.

West Indies opener Shai Hope, left, celebrates with fellow opener Sunil Ambris after scoring a fifty during their Tri-Nation Series final at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Friday.  - AFP PHOTO


Tigers advanced to the final as the unbeaten team. West Indies lost to Bangladesh twice at the league stage but managed to win two matches against hosts Ireland.

Bangladesh played without their ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan who was recovering from a side spasm he sustained in the last group stage match against Ireland.

Bangladesh played six finals in the last decade but failed to win any of them. Asia Cup 2018 was the last time they capitulated to India in the final. Before that, Bangladesh lost two finals of Asia Cup - one in 2012 against Pakistan and another against India in 2016.

Covers come on as rain hinders the Tri-Nation Series final match between Bangladesh and West Indies at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Friday.


Apart from these, Bangladesh lost three tri-nation finals. Two of them were against Sri Lanka in 2009 and 2018, and the other one was against India in 2018 (Nidahas Trophy).

So, the latest final came as an opportunity for the Tigers to create history. Mashrafe’s men are upbeat to pass the final hurdle.

Bangladesh made four changes. Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman came back to replace Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Jayed Rahi and Rubel Hossain respectively.