Dr Kamal president, Reza Kibria GS of Gano Forum

Staff Correspondent

6 May, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Gano Forum on Sunday announced its 111-member central committee with Dr Kamal Hossain as president and Reza Kibria, new general secretary (GS).

Former general secretary of the party, Mostafa Mohsin Montu, was made an executive member of the committee.

Gano Forum executive president Subrata Chowdhury, at a press conference at Jatiya Press Club in the capital, announced the new committee. Party president Dr Kamal Hossain was present at the press conference.

The new committee of Gano Forum was formed after the party’s special council held in the capital on April 26.

As per announcement, Dr Kamal Hossain was re-elected president of Gano Forum while former secretary general of the party, Mostafa Mohsin Montu, was made number one central committee member of the party.

Former state minister for information Dr Prof Abu Sayeed and Subrata Chowdhury were made executive presidents of the party.   

Gano Forum lawmaker Mokabbir Khan was made a presidium member of the party.

Reza Kibria, son of slain former Awami League finance minister Shah AMS Kibria, joined Dr Kamal Hossain-led Gano Forum and contested the December 30 parliamentary polls under Jatiya Oikya Front from Habiganj-1 constituency.

The party presidium members include AHM Khalequzzaman, Abu Sayeed, Abdul Aziz, Mafizul Islam Khan Kamal, Subrata Chowdhury, Mokabbir Khan, MP, AMSA Amin, Zaglul Haider Afrik, Shantipada Ghose, Mohsin Rashid, Shafiq Ullah, Mesbah Uddin Ahmed and Mohammad Jane Alam.

No names were announced for the posts of treasurer, information and media secretary, cultural affairs secretary and international affairs secretary.

Speaking at the press conference, Gano Forum president Dr Kamal Hossain said the 11th parliamentary election was not held in a free and fair manner.