Mujibnagar Day observed

Staff Correspondent

18 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The historic Mujibnagar Day was observed across the country on Wednesday commemorating the formation of the first government of Bangladesh in exile in Meherpur, Kushtia in 1971.

The provisional government of Bangladesh took oath at Baidyanathtala in Meherpur that led the Bangladesh Liberation War and freed the country from the clutch of the occupation forces of Pakistan on December 16, 1971.

Marking the day, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina paid tribute to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman by placing wreath at his portrait at Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi 32 in the capital.

After laying wreath, she stood there in solemn silence for some time as a mark of profound respect to the memory of Bangabandhu, the architect of the country’s independence.

Flanked by the central leaders of Awami League, Sheikh Hasina, also president of the ruling party, placed another wreath at the portrait of Bangabandhu on behalf of the party.

Later, Jubo League, Chhatra League, Mohila Awami League, Jubo Mohila League, Swechchhasebak League, Sramik League, Krishak League, Swadhinata Chikitsak Parishad (SWACHIP) and Bangabandhu Parishad placed wreaths at the portrait of Bangabandhu. Laer, dozens of other organisations paid tributes to Bangabandhu by placing wreaths at his portrait.

Awami League, its associate organisations and various socio-cultural organisations chalked elaborate programmes marking the day.

Earlier in the morning, national and party flags were hoisted at 6:00am atop Bangabandhu Bhaban at Dhanmondi and party offices across the country.

The national flag was also hoisted at Mujibnagar. An AL delegation laid floral wreath at Mujibnagar Memorial in the morning while a discussion was held at Sheikh Hasina Mancha with party presidium member Mosharraf Hossain in the chair.

On this day in 1971, Vice President Syed Nazrul Islam had taken oath as the acting president of the provisional government of Bangladesh in exile in absence of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Tajuddin Ahmad was its first prime minister, Capt (Retd) M Mansur Ali finance minister, Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad foreign minister and AHM Qamaruzzaman took oath as the home, and relief and rehabilitation minister.