Cricket WC 2019

Bangladesh squad announced

More stories on Page 8

Sports Correspondent

17 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday announced a 15-member squad for the World Cup 2019 beginning in England and Wales on May 30.

BCB chief selector Minhazul Abedin announced the team at a press conference at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital.

Akram Khan, chairman of the cricket operation committee, and selector Habibul Bashar were present at the press conference.

Jalal Younus, chairman of the media and communication committee of BCB, was also present.

Abu Jayed Rahi came as the only surprise of the World Cup squad. The right-arm pacer never played an ODI. However, he played Test cricket for the Tigers.

Mosaddek Hossain has also been included in the team. The right-handed batsman recently struck a ton in the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League which has paved the way for him.

“Rahi’s bowling can be effective in the condition of England and this is why we have included him in the pace bowling attack,” Minhazul Abedin told the reporters while announcing the team.

“We have considered Mosaddek as the back-up batsman and he has the ability of bowling off-spin which can be a great asset for us in the event like World Cup,” Minhazul said.

BCB Chief Selector Minhazul Abedin announced the team at a press-conference at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Chairman of the cricket operation committee Akram Khan and the other selector including Habibul Bashar were presented at the press conference along with Jalal Younus, chairman of the media and communication committee of BCB.

Along with the 15-members World Cup team, BCB also kept batsman Yasir Ali Rabbi and right-arm spinner Nayeem Hasan for the Ireland tour. The duo has been included only for the tri-series in Ireland.

However, if they do well in Ireland they might get a chance in the World Cup squad as BCB has time to make changes in the World Cup team before May 22, said the chief selector.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mosaddek Hossain.