Bangabandhu, Bangamata Gold Cup School Football finals today

Sports Correspondent

4 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The grand finals of Bangabandhu Gold Cup Primary School Football tournament and Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Primary School Football tournament will be held today at the country’s premier venue Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to grace the finals as the chief guest and later distribute the trophy.

Dokkhin Kanialkhatha Govt Primary School, Nilphamari of Rangpur Division will take on Horipur Govt Primary School, Joyentapur of Sylhet division in the final of Bangabandhu Gold Cup Primary School Football tournament that kicks off at 1:00pm while Tepurgari BK Govt Primary School, Lalmonirhat of Rangpur Division meet Pachrukhi Govt Primary School of Mymensingh Division in the Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib final that begins at 3:30pm.

In the previous edition of the tournament, Earlier Purbo Ujantia Govt Primary School earned the title of Bangabandhu Gold Cup while Doharu Govt Primary School clinched the title of Bangamata Begum Fazilatunnesa Mujib Gold Cup Primary School Football tournament.

Purbo Ujantia Govt Primary School of Pekua Upazila of Cox’s Bazar defeated Vulbaria Govt Primary School of Santhia Upazila of Pabna by 2-1 goals while Doharu Govt Primary School of Shailkupa Upazila of Jhenaidah triumphed against Pachrukhi Govt Primary School of Nandail Upazila of Mymensingh through a penalty shoot-out by 5-4 goals in Bangamata Gold Cup final at the same venue.

State-owned Bangladesh Television will telecast live both the finals.

The Bangabandhu Gold Cup football tournament began its journey in 2010 paying tribute to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and with this sequence Bangamata Gold Cup also introduced in 2011. The main themes of these two tournaments are “Let’s all go to school.”

The two tournaments were held at unions, upazilas, districts and divisional phases and finally concluded in national phase through final matches.

A total of 11,18,515 boys students represented to 65,795 schools in Bagabandhu Gold Cup while 11,16, 900 girls students represented to 65,700 schools in Bangamata Gold Cup this year.

Chattagram Division are the hat-trick champions in the Bangabandhu Gold Cup followed by Rangpur Division and Sylhet Division two times while Barisal Division are one occasion.

The Primary and Mass Education Ministry has been relentlessly working with the expectation that the students, coming out from these two tournaments, would represent the national team in the coming future.

In this regards, a pre-final press conference was held at conference room of Bangladesh Football Federation to provide all the details of the meet.

State Minister for Primary and Mass Education M Zakir Hossain, Primary and Mass Education Secretary M Akram Al Hossain, Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) vice president Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi, BFF general secretary Abu Nayeem Sohag were among others present on the occasion.