Fourth-phase upazila polls held

Staff Correspondent

1 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The voting in the fourth-phase upazila parishads was held on Sunday with some isolated incidents of violence and irregularities.

Amid boycott by opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) the election began at 8:00 am and continued until 4:00 pm.

The voting in 107 upazilas of 22 districts under Dhaka, Mymensingh, Rangpur, Khulna, Barishal and Chattogram were held in the fourth phase.

A total of 351 candidates vied for the posts of chairman, 533 for vice-chairman and 406 for reserved vice-chairman posts.

Authorities suspended the election in all polling stations in Titas Upazila of Cumilla amid incidents of irregularities, according to the Election Commission.

Thirty-nine chairmen candidates, 22 vice-chairmen and 27 reserved vice-chairmen candidates were elected unopposed. Fifteen upazila parishads do not need to hold the election as all of the candidates were elected unopposed.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were used in Patuakhali Sadar, Cox’s Bazar Sadar, Bagerhat Sadar and Munshiganj Sadar.

The police administration took adequate security measures to avert any untoward incidents. 111 platoons of BGB were deployed additionally in 48 upazilas while 48 platoons were kept reserved, said the EC source.