Mymensingh city polls on May 5 | 2019-03-26 |

Mymensingh city polls on May 5

Staff Correspondent

26 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Elections to newly constituted Mymensingh City Corporation (MCC) will be held on May 5.

The Election Commission announced the polls schedule on Monday. EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announced the decision taken at the 46th meeting of the  commission chaired by KM Nurul Huda.

According to the EC decision, the candidates will have to submit their nomination forms till April 8 while the forms will be scrutinised on April 10 and the last date of withdrawal of nomination forms is April 17.

Electronic voting machine (EVM) will be used at all 130 polling centres in the city corporation.

As the HSC examinations will be held in April and Ramadan will begin on May 7, the EC fixed May 5 for the MCC polls.

Ekramul Haque, the mayor of the defunct Mymensingh municipality, has been serving as the MCC administrator.

As per Local Government (City Corporation) Act, an administrator’s term is limited to 180 days and the city has to elect a new public representative before expiry of the term of the administrator.

Mymensingh City Corporation comprises 33 general wards and 11 reserve wards. Its boundary was delimited in a gazette on January 28 of this year. The new city corporation came into being on October 15 last year. The total area of the city corporation is 91.135 square kilometres and its population is 4, 71,858.

The National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reorganisation-Reform (NICAR) approved the formation of the country’s 12th city corporation on April 2 ast year.

NICAR had previously formed the Mymensingh Division on September 14, 2015 comprising Mymensingh, Jamalpur, Sherpur and Netrakona.

The other city corporations are Dhaka North, Dhaka South, Chattogram, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barishal, Cumilla, Narayanganj, Rangpur and Gazipur.