3rd phase of UZ polls today | 2019-03-24 | daily-sun.com

3rd phase of UZ polls today

Staff Correspondent

24 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Elections to 117 upazila parishads will be held on Sunday in the third phase of the local body polls amid boycott by BNP.

Voters will exercise their franchise between 8:00am and 4:00pm to choose their local government representatives.

Elections to upazila parishads in 25 districts of Dhaka, Mymensingh, Rangpur, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barishal and Chattogram divisions will be held in the third phase, Election Commission (EC) sources said.

A total of 340 candidates are vying for chairman while 584 for vice-chairman and 399 for reserved vice-chairman posts.

Polls campaign ended on Friday midnight.

Most of the heavyweight chairman candidates carried out hectic polls campaign.

Thirty-three chairman, nine vice-chairman and 13 reserved vice-chairman candidates have already been elected unopposed.

Police administration has taken adequate security measures to avert any untoward incident.

A total of 1, 18, 87,751 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in 9,298 polling centres.

EC secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said, “The EC has taken a tougher stance against polls violence.”

The Commission has deployed additional members of BGB and RAB at 24 risky  upazilas, he informed.

He also said that they had warned three members of parliament (MPs) for taking part in polls campaign through violation of the electoral code of conduct.

“Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) will be used in Rangpur Sadar, Gopalganj Sadar, Manikganj Sadar and Meherpur Sadar upazilas,” he said.

Earlier, the EC announced the election schedule for 127 upazilas, but balloting will not be held in 10 upazilas in the third phase on various grounds, the EC official said, adding that it has been postponed in two upazilas while polling has been shifted to other phases in two UZs and all the candidates have been elected unopposed in six UZs.

He informed that the election materials, including ballot papers, have already been handed over to the presiding officers.

As per reports reached from the election areas, candidates passed a busy day on Friday, the last day of electioneering.

Although BNP will not take part in polls, but there will be contest between rebel candidates of AL in some upazilas.

Meanwhile, elections to Lohagara upazila in Chattogram and Kutubdia upazila in Cox’s Bazar have been postponed after a court order and polls to Narsingdi Sadar upazila and Cox’s Bazar Sadar upazila have been shifted to fourth phase.

The EC also banned display and carrying of licensed arms seven days before polls.

Executive and judicial magistrates have been deployed to ensure strict adherence to the electoral code of conduct.

In a bid to maintain the law and order during polls, 14 members of police, Ansar and VDP will be deployed at every general centre while 15 members of the forces will be deployed at every risky and special polling centre on the election day.

Mobile and striking forces comprising police, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB), Armed Police Battalion, BGB, Coast Guard and Ansar have been deployed in every upazila ahead of polls.

Law enforcers will maintain the law and order in consultation with the returning officers.