Farhad’s fifer trumps Gazi Group Cricketers

Sports Correspondent

21 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Skipper Farhad Reza claimed 5 wickets for 40 runs while opener Saif Hasan struck 102 runs to power Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club to a facile 6-wicket win over Gazi Group Cricketers in their fourth match of Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPL) at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Mizanur’s century propelled Brothers Union to second victory at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan Ground-3 ground while Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity posted their maiden victory at Khan Shaheb Osmani Ali Stadium.

Farhad’s third fifer in List A cricket helped Prime dismiss Gazi Group to a moderate 230 runs in 49.1 overs, a score that they gunned down in 45.5 overs, making 231 runs losing just 6 wickets, thanks to Saif Hasan’s second List A century.

Farhad also contributed with bat, hitting a 10-ball 21-run undefeated knock in the side’s third victory in fourth match. His performance in both batting and bowling helped him earn the man of the match award.

Saif continued his rich vein of form. Before this century, he scored 83 not out, 85 and 9 runs in the last three matches, to show consistency which few cricketers could demonstrate in the league so far.

He gave the side a solid start in the chase of 231 runs despite his fellow opener Shykat Ali falling for 9 runs. He got support from Farhad Hossain (19) and Marshall Ayub (32) to keep the side in the hunt before taking the side on the verge of the victory. He smashed 6 sixes and 4 fours in his 124-ball 102 runs.

After his dismissal, Saad Nasim (35 not out) and Farhad Reza (21 not out) propelled Doleshwar to the victory.

Farhad Reza’s five-for however was complemented by Shykat Ali’s 3 wickets for 32 runs and Araft Sunny’s 2 wickets for 51 runs as Gazi Group Cricketers found themselves in a position of embarrassment right from the start as they put into bat first. Indian recruit Parvej Rasool helped them go past 200 runs with 67 runs. Shamsur Rahman was the other notable contributor with 45 runs.

Meanwhile, Brothers Union grabbed their second victory of DPL, crushing Uttara Sporting Club by 8 wickets riding on a 113-ball 108 runs from opener Mizanur Rahman.

Mizanur and his fellow opener Juanid Siddique paved the platform of the effortless victory, sharing 192 runs in the opening stand as Brothers reached the winning mark of 267 runs losing 2 wickets in 48.2 overs after Uttara piled up a respectable 264 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs.

Juanid played a perfect foil to Mizanur, hitting 92 runs off 112 balls, an innings laced with 5 fours. Both the batsmen took the Uttara bowlers in disdain to make the victory a cake-walk.

Mizanur, on way to his third List A century, clobbered 10 fours and 5 sixes. He was however the first batsman to fall but Fazle Mahmud kept the rhythm by playing a fluent knock of 55-ball 57 runs.

Junaid missed out on what could have been his eighth List A century by just 8 runs as Brothers were just 11 runs away to the victory when he was removed.

Riding on three half-centuries, Uttara posted a total that was by no means an easy target.

Openers Tanzid Hasan and Anisul Islam Emon combined for a 102-run partnership to give the side a solid base. Tanzid was the highest scorer of the side with 75 runs while Emon made 58 runs.

Skipper Mohimenul Khan struck 64 runs to help the side finish with a bang but it was not enough to save the side. Indian recruit Chirag Jani and Sharifullah took 2 wickets each for Brothers.

All the while, Robiul Islam Robi came up with a stellar all-round performance as Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity secured its first victory of DPL this season in their fourth match, beating BKSP by 27 runs.

Openr Robiul Islam hit 75 runs as Khelgahar posted 212 runs for 8 wickets in 50 overs. However their bowlers defended the mediocre total, bowling well to restrict BKSP to 185 runs for 9 wickets. Sharing the new ball, Robiul claimed 2 wickets for 28 runs. His namesake Roibul Haque (2 wickets for 41 runs), Irfan Hossain (2 wickets for 36 runs) and Masum Khan (2 wickets for 30 runs) also came up with handy support in the side’s quest to the maiden victory.

Opting to bat first, Khelaghar lost opener Sadikur Rahma cheaply but Robiul and Mohidul Ankan shared 120 runs for the second wicket stand to steady the innings. However both of them were removed in the space of 17 runs, leaving Khelaghar 150 runs having lost 3 wickets. Ankan made 49 runs.

After their dismissal, no one could take the onus as Khelghar couldn’t post a daunting total which was on the card. Left-arm spinner Hasan Murad was the most successful bowler for BKSP with 3 wickets for 33 runs.

However on the face of some disciplined bowling from Khelaghar bowlers, BKSP kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Only Shamim Hossain with 56 runs could put up some resistance. No 9 batsman Sumon Khan was the other notable scorer with 24 not out.