Two JOF MPs to take oath tomorrow | 2019-03-06 |

Two JOF MPs to take oath tomorrow

Staff Correspondent

6 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Two lawmakers-elect from Jatiya Oikya Front — Sultan Muhammed Mansur and Mukabbir Khan — will take oath in parliament tomorrow, defying a decision of the alliance.

They will be sworn in around 11am at Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury’s office, sources said.

Mansur was elected from Moulvibazar-2 constituency in the 11th national election held on December 30. He contested the polls with ‘sheaf of paddy’.

Mukabbir won the Sylhet-2 seat by contesting the polls with Gono Forum’s rising sun symbol.

The BNP-dominated alliance, led by Gono Forum president Dr Kamal Hossain, only won eight seats, including the duo.

The alliance rejected all the election results amid allegations of massive rigging and decided not to take oath.

Dr Kamal initially took the interests of the two leaders of his party as positive, but he changed his decision after a meeting with BNP leaders.