DNCC gets 36 councillors, DSCC 18

Staff Correspondent

2 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

A total of 36 new councilors and 12 for reserved seats were elected in the polls held in 18 new wards under Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) and 18 others under Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC).

The elected councilors in DNCC are Md Jahangir Alam from ward no. 37, Sheikh Selim of ward no. 38, Shafiqul Islam ward no. 39, Faruk Ahmed ward no. 42, Saidur Rahman Sarkar ward no. 46, Motaleb Mia ward no. 47, Masudur Rahman Dewan ward no. 48, Anisur Rahman Naim ward no. 49, Mohammad Sharifur Rahman ward no. 51, Farid Ahmed ward no. 52, Nasir Uddin ward no. 53 and Jahangir Hossain ward no. 54.

The elected councilors for reserved seats are Mahfuza Islam from ward no. 13, Kamrunnahar ward no. 14, Elora Parvin word no. 16, Zakia Sultana ward no. 17 and Komola Rani Mukta ward no. 18.

The candidates vying for the remaining councilor posts and reserve seats have been elected unopposed.

DSCC’s elected councilors are Shafikur Rahman Saiju from ward no. 58, Akash Kumar Voumik ward no. 59, Anowar Majumder ward no. 60, Jummon Mia ward no. 61, Mostak Ahmed ward no. 65, Shafiqul Islam ward no. 63, Masudur Rahman Molla ward no. 64, Shamsuddin Bhuiyan ward no. 65, Nur Uddin Mia ward no. 66, Ibrahim ward no. 67, Mahmud Hasan Polin ward no. 68, Habibur Rahman from ward 69, Atikur from ward 70, Khairuzzaman ward no. 71, Shafikul Alam Sahin ward no. 72, Abul Kalam Azad ward no. 74, Shafiqul Islam ward no. 73 and Tofazzol ward no. 75.

The elected reserved seat councilors are Sultana Ahmed from ward no. 25, Fulbanu ward no. 24, Monira Choudhury ward no. 23, Hosne Ara Sahin ward no. 22, Roksana Akhter ward no. 21 and Nasrin Ahmed ward no. 20.

A total of 45 councillors for reserved seat and 116 councillor post aspirants contested the DNCC polls while in DSCC 24 councillors ran for reserved seats and 125 for general councillor posts.

Mentionable, five candidates vied for the mayoral post in the DNCC while 116 contenders for 18 general councillor posts and 45 aspirants for six reserved seats which are exclusively for women. Of them, one general councillor candidate was elected unopposed in the city, reports UNB.

The three other mayoral candidates are NPP's Anisur Rahman (Mango) and PDP's Shahin Khan (Tiger) and independent runner Abdur Rahim (Table Clock).

The mayoral post fell vacant after former mayor Annisul Huq passed away on November 30, 2017. The last mayoral election held on April 28, 2015 saw a high-octane campaign by both Awami League's Annisul and BNP's TabithAwal unlike this by-election.