Samrat elected Panchagarh Zila Parishad chairman

Our Correspondent

1 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

PANCHAGARH: Awami League-nominated candidate Anwar Sadat Samrat has been elected chairman of Panchagarh Zila Parishad by-election.

Samrat, also the AL district unit’s general secretary, received 317 votes with ‘cycle’ symbol and AL’s rebel candidate and Krishak League district unit’s general secretary Apel Mahmud got 229 votes.

District Returning Officer and Deputy Commissioner Sabina Yasmin declared the results of the election at the DC’s conference room on Thursday evening.

On the other hand, JSD leader Imran Al Amin received 30 votes, Principal Deldar Rahman Dilu 1 vote while Zahura Pradhan received no votes.

The election was held from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm at 15 polling centres under five upazilas in the district.

A total of 583 voters exercised their franchise during the election.