Zakia Noor takes oath as MP

Special Correspondent

17 February, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Dr Syeda Zakia Noor, who was elected as lawmaker uncontested from Kishoreganj-1 constituency, took oath at Parliament Bhaban on Saturday.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath of office to the MP elected on Awami League ticket.

Parliament senior secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath taking ceremony while chief whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury and whip Iqbalur Rahim were present.

Zakia Noor, younger sister of former Awami League general secretary and public administration minister late Syed Ashraful Islam, was elected the lawmaker from Kishoreganj-1 constituency in a re-election as the constituency fell vacant following the death of Syed Ashraf.

Ashraf, son of acting president of Bangladesh during the Liberation War and one of the four national leaders Syed Nazrul Islam, was elected as MP from the constituency for fifth consecutive term in December 30 polls.

But he died at a Bangkok hospital on January 3, on the day when other MPs-elect of 11th parliament took oath.

The Election Commission held the re-election there as Syed Ashraf failed to take the oath.

As per law, if any lawmaker-elect refrains from taking oath within 90 days after the beginning of the first session or refrains from informing the Speaker, his/her membership will be cancelled.

Lawmakers-elect from the Bangladesh Nationalist Party-dominated Jatiya Oikya Front are yet to take the oath.

Brining allegation of vote rigging and other irregularities, the JOF decided not to take the oath.