JS Reserved Seats

49 women elected unopposed

Staff Correspondent

17 February, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Forty-nine aspirants for the elections to the women’s reserved seats in the 11th parliament were declared elected by the returning officer.

Returning officer Abul Kashem declared them elected unopposed as no one of the aspirant withdrew their candidature by 5:00pm on Saturday, the last day for withdrawal of candidature.

Earlier on February 12, they completed scrutiny of 49 candidates for the reserved seats and their nominations were found valid.

“They will publish the final list of the elected members of the women’s reserved seats on Sunday,” said the returning officer.

Earlier on February 11, forty-nine female candidates from the ruling Awami League and opposition parties submitted their nomination papers to the Election Commission.

No candidate from opposition BNP submitted nomination papers as part of the party’s decision to boycott the current parliament.

The RO said, “If the lawmakers-elect from BNP will not take oath by 90 days of the declaration of parliamentary election gadget, then we will declare the constituencies vacant. Then, elections to the seven constituencies will be held.” In proportion of the seats political parties secured in the 11th general election, Awami League got 43 women’s reserved seats while Jatiya Party 4, BNP 1, Workers Party 1 and one for an independent candidate.

The election to the women’s reserved seats was slated for March 4.