Cabinet sits today

Special Correspondent

21 January, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The newly formed cabinet led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina starts its journey today by holding its first meeting.

Prime Minister’s Office sources say the meeting will be held at 10am at the cabinet room of the premier’s Tejgaon office in the capital.

After winning the December-30 polls with an absolute majority, Sheikh Hasina took oath on January 7 as the prime minister for the third consecutive term and formed the government for the fourth time with a 47-member cabinet.

This is for the first time the Awami League-led 14-party partners have remained out of the cabinet along with its senior campaigners including Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Matia Chowdhury, Mohammad Nasim, Rashed Khan Menon and Hasanul Huq Inu.

The new council of ministers comprises 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers.

Taking the helm of the cabinet, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is going to make a history of running the state for 20 years as a premier if she can complete the new term.

None of the state actors, who had ruled the country in the past, got the opportunity to do so for fourth term.

Sheikh Hasina first led the Awami League to office through 1996 general election, 21 years after the assassination of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman on August 15 in 1975.

She took the oath as the premier on June 23 in that year.

The premier also formed the government for the second time on January 6 after winning the December 29, 2008 election with an absolute majority in the parliament.

She took the oath for the consecutive second term on January 12 after winning the January 5, 2014 election boycotted by the BNP-led alliance.

She is the lone premier who is going to serve the country for 15 years in a row.