Body formed to formulate ‘code of conduct’

DU Correspondent

20 January, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The Dhaka University (DU) authorities on Saturday formed a committee to formulate the ‘code of conduct’ for holding the DU Central Students Union (DUCSU) and hall sangsad (unit) elections.

DU Vice-Chancellor (VC) Prof Md Akhtaruzzaman formed the seven- member committee headed by Pro-VC (education) Prof Nasrin Ahmad.

A press release issued by the DU Public Relations Office confirmed this on Saturday afternoon.

Other members of the committee are Dean of Earth and Environmental Sciences and President of DU Teachers’ Association Prof ASM Maksud Kamal, Dean of Arts Faculty Prof Abu Md Delwar Hossain, Dean of Law Faculty Prof Md Rahmat Ullah, Dean of Social Science Faculty Prof Sadeka Halim, Prof of Economics Department M M Akash and Prof AJM Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan of Television, Films and Photography Department. 

Meanwhile, Prof Akhtaruzzaman has appointed five professors of the university as Returning

Officers to assist the Chief Returning Officer (CRO) to conduct the DUCSU and hall unit polls.

They are Prof Md Didar-ul-Alam, Head of Soil, Water and Environment Department, Chairman of Mathematics Department, Prof Amal Krishna Halder, Director of the Institute of Disaster Management and Vulnerability Studies, Prof Mahbuba Nasrin of Islamic History and Culture Department, Abdul Bashir and Chairman of Computer Science and Engineering Department Prof Md Mostafizur Rahman.

On Thursday, the DU VC appointed SM Mahfuzur Rahman as the Chief Returning Officer under Section 8 (e) of DUCSU Constitution.