DU appoints chief returning officer

DU Correspondent

18 January, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The Dhaka University authorities on Thursday appointed International Business Department Professor SM Mahfuzur Rahman as the chief returning officer for the long-awaited DUCSU polls.

DUCSU election was not held for nearly three decades. 

DU Vice-Chancellor Professor Akhtaruzzaman gave Prof Mahfuzur the appointment under section 8(e) of the existing Dhaka University Central Students’ Union constitution, said a press release on Thursday.

A 15-member advisory council has also been formed as the university gears up for holding the polls.    

The members of the council include Professor Kazi Shahidullah, Department of History, President of Dhaka University Teachers Association Professor ASM Maksud Kamal, General Secretary Professor Shibli Rubiatul Islam, Dean of the Faculty of Science Professor Mohammad Abdul Aziz, Dean of Faculty of Engineering and Technology Professor Hasanuzzaman, Economics Department Chairman Professor Shafiq Uz Zaman, Population Science Department Professor AKM Noor-un-Nabi, Geography and Environmental Science Department Professor AQM Mahbub, Marketing Department Professor Belayet Hossain, Chemistry Department Professor Tofail Ahmed Chowdhury, Professor Syed Farhad Anwar, director, IBA,   Chairman of Bangla Department Professor  Bismadeb Chowdhury, Professor of Social Welfare and Research Institute ASM Atiqur Rahman, Professor of Mathematics Department Professor Sajeda Banu and Nutrition and Food Science Institute Professor Sharmin Rumi Alim.

Meanwhile, the university authority also held a meeting with socio-cultural organisations of the university Thursday morning at Abdul Matin Chowdhury Digital Classroom to exchange views about the DUCSU poll.