Tuesday, 24 May, 2022

Dhaka Abahani lift 10th Fed Cup title

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 8 June, 2017 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Dhaka Abahani lift 
10th Fed Cup title
Dhaka Abahani Ltd players celebrate their 10th Federation Cup title after winning the final against Chittagong Abahani Ltd at Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital on Tuesday.

Defending champions Dhaka Abahani Limited smartly clinched their 10th Federation Cup Football crown with unbeaten record beating their junior rivals Chittagong Abahani Limited by 3-1 goals in the final of the 29th version of the meet at the floodlight Bangabandhu National Stadium on Tuesday.

With the day’s feat, Dhaka Abahani not only retained the title of the country’s one of the major soccer meets, but also maintained their unbeaten record playing 31 matches in the domestic league and tournament since last year.

Promising striker Nabib Newaj Jibon, Imon Mahmud and Nigerian striker Emeka Darlington scored one goal each for the popular sky-yellow Dhanmondi outfit.

Dhaka Abahani took the lead in the 36th minute by a gifted goal as an ordinary shot of their forward Jibon kissed the net hitting Chittagong Abahani defender Krishna Pada making fool the custodian (1-0).Imon Mahmud doubled the lead in the stoppage time of the first half by a long range left footer from the left wing after receiving the ball from midfield (2-0).

Nigerian striker Emeka Darlington scored the 3rd goal for Dhaka Abahani just three minutes after the breather by an upward placing shot utilising a left wing cross of Waly Faisal (3-0).

Chittagong Abahani Ltd, which made their first-ever appearance in the prestigious final of the season’s curtain raiser meet, failed to proved their worth in a big occasion.