Thursday, 28 September, 2023

Afghanistan Elect to Bat First, Bangladesh Make Three Changes

Afghanistan Elect to Bat First, Bangladesh Make Three Changes

Popular News

In their quest for a historic clean sweep over Bangladesh, Afghanistan have won the toss and chosen to bat first in the third and final ODI of the series in Chattogram.

Bangladesh has made three changes to their playing XI. Ebadot Hossain, who suffered a knee injury in the last match, along with Mustafizur Rahman and Hasan Mahmud, have been replaced by Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, and Taijul Islam.

Afghanistan has also made two changes for this match. Their star spinner, Rashid Khan, and Mohammad Saleem have been rested, making way for Abdul Rahman and Zia-ur-Rehman, who will be making their ODI debuts.

In the previous match, Afghanistan batted first and posted a total of 331 runs. Bangladesh failed to chase it down, resulting in their first-ever ODI series defeat to Afghanistan.

In the first match, Bangladesh lost by 17 runs under the DL Method, with rain interruptions throughout the game.

Following the conclusion of the ODI series, both teams will face off in a three-match T20I series in Sylhet.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Mohammad Naim, Litton Das (c), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz (w), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Zia-ur-Rehman