Tuesday, 30 May, 2023

SAFF to wait for eighth team until May 15

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 6th May, 2023 10:19:26 PM
  • Print news
SAFF to wait for eighth team until May 15

The South Asian Football Federation executive committee has decided to wait for the eighth team of the 14th SAFF Championship 2023 until May 15 while the draw of this event will be held on May 21 in Bengaluru.

SAFF EC earlier decided to arrange its competition with eight teams from June 21 to July 4 in Bengaluru, India.

Seven South Asian teams -- Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Bhutan, Pakistan, Nepal and Middle Eastern nation Kuwait have already confirmed their participation in the competition, now they will wait for the eighth team.

The decision was taken in the SAFF Ordinary Congress held in Dhaka on Saturday. The meeting also sketched a plan for organising the first-ever SAFF Club Championship in the middle of next year on a home and away basis.

The congress elected Ali Umar from the Football Association of Maldives and Sundar Narsingh Joshi from the All Nepal Football Association as the vice-presidents of the SAFF. The duo was elected unopposed by the congress for the remaining term of 2022-2026.

Likewise, AIFF general secretary Dr Shaji Prabhakaran was elected as the SAFF representative at the AFC Executive Committee for the 2023-2027 term, SAFF said in a press release.