Friday, 9 June, 2023

Salma, Rumana rested for Tigresses' tour of Sri Lanka

Salma, Rumana rested for Tigresses' tour of Sri Lanka

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 16-member squad for the tour of Sri Lanka, sans two senior players-Salma Khatun and Rumana Ahmed. 

They will play three ODIs, which are part of the Women's Championships and as many T20 International in the tour, starting later this month. 

Salma and Rumana, who have combined 274 caps in international cricket, are rested keeping in mind this year's busy schedule, said Women's selector Manjurul Islam. The three ODIs however are part of the Women's Championships.

This will be the first time Bangladesh will be without these two stalwarts in ODIs. However the team played a match without this pair in the Women's T20 World Cup in February this year.

"The biggest challenge on this tour will be the weather and conditions. We have built the team thinking of these two factors," Manjurul said in a video message sent by the BCB.

"We have taken some emerging cricketers, those who did well in the Under-19 World Cup recently. We have rested a few senior cricketers. We have a lot of cricket this year at home and abroad. Fitness will be a big issue in Sri Lanka. We have taken all this into account when selecting this squad."

Young pacer Marufa Akter and opener Sharmin Akter were also left out from the squad apart from Salma and Rumana while Sultana Khatun is the new face in the squad.

This will be the first limited-overs bilateral series between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in women's cricket. 

Both teams have so far amassed two points each with Sri Lanka holding the eighth spot after six matches.

Bangladesh are seventh after three matches in the Women's Championship points table after getting two points from an abandoned match in New Zealand.  

Bangladesh will leave the country on April 25 for Colombo. They will play a practice match on April 27 before starting the series. 

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana Joty (capt), Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Sobhana Mostary, Lata Mondal, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Fariha Islam Trisna, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun
Bangladesh tour of SL
April 27: Bangladesh vs SLC Board President's XI, Colombo Cricket Club
April 29: 1st ODI
May 2: 2nd ODI
May 4: 3rd ODI (all ODIs at P Sara Oval)
May 7: Bangladesh vs SLC Board President's XI, Colombo Cricket Club
May 9: 1st T20I
May 11: 2nd T20I
May 12: 3rd T20I (all T20Is at SSC)