Saturday, 3 June, 2023

BNP to observe sits-in at all upazilas, thanas Saturday

BNP to observe sits-in at all upazilas, thanas Saturday

The BNP and its associate bodies are set to observe a two-hour sit-in programme at all upazilas and thanas across the country on Saturday to press home their 10-point demand, including holding the next general election under a non-party caretaker government.

The programme is also meant for registering the party’s protest against the rise in the prices of power, gas and essential items and the Awami League government’s all-pervading corruption.

BNP assistant office secretary Taiful Islam Tipu said the programme will be held from 3 pm to 5 pm at all upazilas and thanas all over the country with the participation of the party's senior leaders.

He said their central leaders have already gone to different upazilas to make the programme a success. 

In the capital, Tipu said the Dhaka North City unit BNP will observe the programme in 26 thanas while the Dhaka south city unit of the party in 24 thanas.

Apart from BNP, the Liberal Democratic Party-LDP will hold a sit-in programme in front of the party's central office at Panthapath in the capital on Saturday at 3 pm, said a party press release.

Earlier on April 1 last, the BNP and its associate bodies and like-minded parties observed a two-hour sit-in programme in all divisional cities and district towns as part of the ongoing simultaneous movement to mount pressure on the government to accept the 10-point demand.

On December 24 last year, BNP and like-minded parties and alliances started a simultaneous movement based on their common objective of ousting the present government and holding the next election under a non-party neutral government.

So far, they have arranged rallies, human chains, sit-ins and road march programmes in all unions, districts and divisional cities across the country to press home their 10-point demand.

Besides, the leaders and activists of BNP’s Dhaka north and south city units observed the road march programme in five areas in the capital since January 28.