Monday, 29 May, 2023

Bangladesh win toss, opt to bat first against Ireland

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 31st March, 2023 01:59:26 PM
  • Print news
Bangladesh win toss, opt to bat first against Ireland

Popular News

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first against Ireland in the third and last T20I of the three-match series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Friday.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman are out for Bangladesh, and Shoriful Islam and Rishad Hossain are in. One change for Ireland: Graham Hume out, Matt Humphreys is in.

The Tigers have been passing a great time in the middle as they are creating record one after another on each passing day since they played a three-match T20I series against world champions England on home soil earlier this month.

Bangladesh brought the Three Lions down to earth after they won that series by a 3-0 margin and they are now on the verge of replicating the same feat against Ireland before going into the last match of the series.

Both Bangladeshi batters and bowlers enjoyed great success in the first two matches and they outplayed the visitors by 22 runs (via the DLS method) and 77 runs respectively to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

The second match win against Ireland on Wednesday was Bangladesh’s fifth successive win in this format and it was the only time they won five matches in a row in this format.

Bangladesh will now look to extend their winning streak to six when they face Ireland in the last game of the T20 series.

Ireland suffered a 0-2 series defeat in the preceding three-match ODI series before they lost the T20I series.

On completion of the T20I series, the teams will travel to Dhaka to play the first-ever Test between the two sides, scheduled for April 4-8 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Bangladesh: 1 Litton Das (wk), 2 Rony Talukdar, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Towhid Hridoy, 6 Shamim Hossain, 7 Rishad Hossain, 8 Nasum Ahmed, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Hasan Mahmud, 11 Shoriful Islam

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling (capt), 2 Ross Adair, 3 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 4 Harry Tector, 5 Curtis Campher, 6 George Dockrell, 7 Gareth Delany, 8 Mark Adair, 9 Fionn Hand, 10 Matthew Humphreys, 11 Ben White