Monday, 29 May, 2023

Delimitation: 186 applications filed regarding redrawing of JS constituencies

The Election Commission has said 186 applications have been submitted so far regarding the redrawing of the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies.

“On February 26, the preliminary list of the boundaries of the parliamentary constituencies was published. The deadline for submitting claims and objections to the list was March 19. A total of 186 applications have been submitted during this period," the Election Commission's Joint Secretary SM Asaduzzaman told reporters on Monday.

The highest number of applications have been received in Comilla (84). The lowest number of applications have been filed in Mymensingh (1) and Chattogram (1).

Meanwhile, no applications were filed in Rangpur and Sylhet, Asadduzzaman said.

Among other districts, 43 applications have been received from Rajshahi, 29 from Barisal, 18 from Dhaka, and five each from Khulna and Faridpur.

Election Commissioner Anisur Rahman said: “The applications will be arranged based on constituencies. Then, the secretariat will work on how many objections have been received in which constituencies. The committee will then hold a hearing where the decision on any redrawing of constituencies will be made.”