Monday, 27 March, 2023

10 nominated for Independence Award 2023

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 9th March, 2023 09:11:01 PM
  • Print news

The government has nominated nine distinguished people and one institution for "Swadhinata Padak 2023" (Independence Award), the highest civilian award, for their outstanding contribution to the country.

The Cabinet Division issued a notification in this connection on Thursday.

According to the notification, Freedom Fighter Colonel (retd) Shamsul Alam, late Lieutenant AG Mohammad Khurshid, Shaheed Khaza Nizam Uddin Bhuiyan and Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya (Bir Bikram) were nominated for their contributions to the Independence and Liberation War.

Late Dr Muhammad Moinuddin Ahmed (Selim Al Deen) will receive the award for literature, and Pabitra Mohan Dey for culture and ASM Rakibul Hasan for sports.

Nadira Zahan (Surma Zahid) and Dr Firousi Qadri will get the award for their contributions to research and training.

Besides, Fire Service and Civil Defence was named for the award in social work/service category.