Thursday, 23 March, 2023

Shakib named all time best sportsperson of Bangladesh

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 30th December, 2022 10:14:37 PM
  • Print news
Shakib named all time best sportsperson of Bangladesh

Ace Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been declared as all time best sportsperson of Bangladesh during the country’s oldest and biggest sports journalists and writers’ organization – Bangladesh Sports Press Association's 60th anniversary programme at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Dhaka on Friday.

Shakib outshone former national football skipper and BFF President Kazi Salahuddin and the country's first grandmaster Niaz Morshed to clinch the top award during the ceremony where BSPA honoured 10 sports personalities and 10 sports journalists.

The other recepients are - Monem Munna (football), Mosharraf Hossain Khan (swimming), Mashrafe bin Mortaza (cricket), Asif Hossain Khan (shooting), Shah Alam (athletics), Mosharraf Hossain (boxing) and Siddikur Rahman (golf).

"I think those who were selected in top 10, all deserved to be the number one. All are best in their own disciplines," Shakib after being named as the country's best sportsperson of all time.

Apart from sportspersons, BSPA also honoured 10 top sports journalists of the country on the occasion.

The journalists are – Abdul Hamid, Tawfiq Aziz Khan, Bodiuzzaman, Mohammad Kamruzzaman, Abdul Touhid, Ataul Haque Mallick, Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, Dilu Khandakar, Shahidul Azam and Mostafa Mamun.

A special award was also given to former national cricket team skipper ASM Rakibul Hasan for his ‘Joy Bangla’ sticker protest with a cricket bat before the start of the liberation war in 1971.

"I am very proud of BSPA for their hosting such an event. They are honouring sports personalities and jornalists. I like to thank BSPA for doing such wonderful work," State Minister for Youth and Sports Zahid Ahsan Russel, who was the cheif guest, said during the programme.

The gala event titled ‘celebrating 60 years’ was sponsored by the country’s largest business conglomerate Bashundhara Group.

"We are very happy to be part of this momentous programme. I request all sports journalists to give attention to our grassroot football so that it can flourish. I like to congratulate all the award winners and thank BSPA for hosting the event," Bashundhara Kings President Imrul Hassan said in the event.

A book titled 'Inside The Press Box' which is authored by prominet sports journalist Azad Majumder was also launched during the ceremony.

President of AIPS Asia Hee Don Jung, BSPA President Sanat Babla and BSPA General Secretary Mohammad Samon Hossain were also present during the event.

Some cultural segments were also held in between the ceremony.