Wednesday, 8 February, 2023

Australia win toss, bat in 2nd West Indies Test

Australia win toss, bat in 2nd West Indies Test

Popular News

Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and chose to bat against the West Indies in the second day-night Test at Adelaide Oval on Thursday.

The home side are looking to wrap up the two-match series after winning in Perth on Sunday by 164 runs, while the West Indies continue to search for a first Test win on Australian soil in 25 years.

Smith has assumed the captaincy from Pat Cummins who was ruled out with a mild thigh problem, allowing Scott Boland to start for the first time since their Ashes campaign against England a year ago.

Fellow pace spearhead Josh Hazlewood is also absent due to "general soreness" with Michael Neser replacing him.

"It's traditionally what we like to do here," said Smith on batting first. "If we bat well, we can set the game up."

The West Indies have been beset by injuries and made three changes.

Allrounder Kyle Mayers (shoulder) and bowlers Kemar Roach (hamstring) and Jayden Seales (knee) were ruled out with Devon Thomas, Anderson Phillip, and Marquino Mindley replacing them.

Thomas and Mindley are making their debuts.

Australia: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith (capt), Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Scott Boland, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Devon Thomas, Jason Holder, Joshua Da Silva, Roston Chase, Alzarri Joseph, Anderson Phillip, Marquino Mindley.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)