Saturday, 28 January, 2023

Walton's Golam Murshed ‘Emerging CEO Of The Year’, Firoj Alam ‘CMO Of The Year’

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 6th November, 2022 06:03:53 PM
  • Print news
Walton's Golam Murshed ‘Emerging CEO Of The Year’, Firoj Alam ‘CMO Of The Year’
Walton MD and CEO Golam Murshed and Walton CMO Firoj Alam with crests and certificates at the Bangladesh C-Suite Awards-2022.

Golam Murshed, the managing director (MD) and chief executive officer (CEO) of Walton Hi-Tech Industries PLC. has been honored with the ‘Emerging CEO Of The Year’ award for his outstanding contribution in country’s corporate sector. Bangladesh Brand Forum initiated the first-ever Bangladesh C-Suite Awards to recognize and celebrate the achievements of Bangladeshi business executives. Walton MD and CEO Golam Murshed is awarded in its CEO Of The Year category.

Mohammad Firoj Alam, Chief Marketing Officer (CMO) of Walton Hi-Tech Industries PLC. also received the ‘CMO Of The Year’ award at the same event.

On Saturday (November 5, 2022), Professor Mohammad Abdul Momen, Director of the Institute of Business Administration (IBA) of University of Dhaka, handed over the award with crest to Walton MD and CEO Golam Murshed.

Meanwhile, Beth Macdonald, Chief People Officer, Biocellion SPC, Leadership Trainer, Manila handed over the ‘CMO Of The Year’ crest and certificate to Firoj Alam.

Note that the Bangladesh C-Suite Awards-2022 is the continuation of the leadership summit under the forum. The prestigious award was given on 16 distinguished categories to 16 top executives of Bangladesh. The gala night was attended by over 350 business leaders, experts, and professionals. They shared their ideas and experiences in the program.

Walton MD and CEO Golam Murshed receives the ‘Emerging CEO Of The Year’ award at the Bangladesh C-Suite Awards-2022.

Thanking the authorities concern for this prestigious award Golam Murshed said that it was an absolute honor for him to receive this award at the first-ever Bangladesh C-Suite Awards. He dedicated this award to all members of Walton family.

He said, I have been getting huge supports from the Walton’s board of directors and sincere love and affection from Walton family members throughout the last 12 years of my journey. This award will encourage us in the next course of actions in my life.

Shariful Islam, founder and managing director of Bangladesh Brand Forum said that Bangladesh C-Suite Awards will pursue the vision of developing the next transformative senior leaders for Bangladesh. The award is designed to recognize the C-level professionals who are performing exceedingly well and share their story, insight, journey and approach to the next generation leaders.

After completing his graduation degree in mechanical engineering from the Islamic University of Technology (IUT), Golam Murshed joined Walton as an assistant engineer in 2010. He has been serving Walton in various important positions for last 12 years. Murshed later shifted to refrigerator production unit and was made the CEO of Walton Refrigerator in consideration of his merit and hard works. After serving as the additional managing director (AMD) of Walton Hi-Tech Industries PLC. for a short time, he was appointed as the MD and CEO of the company on 8 October, 2020.

He has taken the mission of “Vision Go Global-2030” for Walton after taking the charges and Walton is now moving forward to become one of the top global brands within 2030 under his leadership.

On the other hand, Firoj Alam joined Walton as a senior executive in 2007. He has been serving and looking after Walton's marketing, branding, PR and communications and cricket branding in his 15 years of journey in the company. He is widely recognized as a charismatic brand marketer.

Other awardees of Bangladesh C-Suite Awards-2022 are: Berger Paints Bangladesh Limited’s Managing Director Rupali Haque Chowdhury (Excellence Award), Managing Director of British American Tobacco Shehzad Munim (MD Of The Year), Brac Enterprise’s Managing Director Tamar Hasan Abed (MD Of The Year), PRAN-RFL Group’s Chairman and CEO Ahsan Khan Chowdhury (Entrepreneur Of The Year), Mirpur Ceramic Workers Limited’s Chairman and Managing Director Asif Arif Tabani (MD Of The Year), bKash Limited’s Chief Product and Technology Officer Azmal Huda (Technology Director Of The Year), Foodpanda Bangladesh Limited’s Managing Director and Co-founder Sayeda Ambareen Reza (MD Of The Year), Nagad Limited’s Chief Business Officer Sheikh Aminur Rahman (Business Director Of The Year), Banglalink Digital Communication’s Chief Corporate and Regulatory Affairs Officer Taimur Rahman (Chief Corporate Affairs Officer), Nestle Bangladesh Limited’s Sales Director Sayed Iqbal Mahmud Hossain (Chief Sales Officer Of The Year), Grameenphone Limited’s Chief Digital Strategy Officer Solaiman Alam (Digital Director Of The Year), Grameenphone Limited’s Chief Human Resources Officer Sayed Tanvir Hossain (Human Resources Director Of The Year), Akij Building Materials’ Operation Director Mohammad Khurshed Alam (Operations Director Of The Year) and Unilever Bangladesh’s CFO and Finance Director Zahid Malita (Finance Director Of The Year).