Thursday, 1 December, 2022

AL leader Abu Bakar Siddique elected chairman of Gaibandha Zila Parishad

GAIBANDHA:  Awami League nominated candidate Md. Abu Bakar Siddique who is also the President of the party's district unit was unofficially elected chairman of Gaibandha Zila Parishad.

Abu Bakar Siddique bagged 583 votes while his nearest candidate Ataur Rahman Sarker got 523 votes in the Zila Parishad election, announced Deputy Commissioner (DC) and returning officer M. Oliur Rahman here today.

DC and returning officer M Oliur Rahman formally declared the results at the conference room of the district collectorate building here in the afternoon.

The voting began at 9am in 7 centers of all the seven upazilas of the district and continued till 2 pm without any break. There was no report of untoward incidents during the voting, said district election officer Abdul Mottalib.

The percentage of the voters' turnout was cent percent as 1124 out of 1124 public representatives at local government bodies exercised their franchise in the election, he said.

A total of three candidates contested for chairmanship, 8 candidates for 3 reserved female members and 22 candidates for 7 general members of the parishad.

Seven presiding officers, 14 assistant presiding officers and 28 polling officers performed their duties in the election.