Tuesday, 27 September, 2022

Zimbabwe win toss, elect to bowl against Bangladesh

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 10th August, 2022 12:58:14 PM
  • Print news
Zimbabwe win toss, elect to bowl against Bangladesh
File photo.

Popular News

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangladesh in the third and final ODI at Harare Sports Club on Wednesday.

The third match of the ODI series is the 400th ODI of Bangladesh. Coming into this landmark match, Bangladesh are eying a win -- the only happiness they can bring back from Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh made two changes to the playing XI, overlooking Shoriful Islam and Taskin Ahmed to pave the way for Ebadot Hossain and Mustafiz.

Sikandar, the king of Zimbabwe in this series, will lead them in the last match.

Bangladesh lost the first two ODIs of the series by the identical five wickets margin and it raised a prospect of being swept by Zimbabwe after 2001.

The Tigers earlier lost the three-match T20 series by 2-1, which was also their first ever series defeat at the hands of Zimbabwe in this format.

Bangladesh were whitewashed at the hands of Zimbabwe twice in the history in ODI format, and both in 2001 during the first two meetings of the two sides. Thereafter even a full strength Zimbabwe could never sweep the series against them. Rather Bangladesh dominated Zimbabwe in a style that hardly any team could do against any particular opponent.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe played 18 bilateral ODI series before the ongoing three-match series, amongst which, the Tigers won 12 and lost 6. However Zimbabwe increased the number of winning series to 7 after, clinching the current series.

Before losing this one, Bangladesh won five straight series against the African opponents and whitewashed them in all of those five series, which extended their winning streak to 19.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal (c), Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman

Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Tadiwanashe Marumani, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Innocent Kaia, Wesley Madhevere, Sikandar Raza (c), Clive Madande (w), Tony Munyonga, Luke Jongwe, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava