Thursday, 6 October, 2022

BSFMSTU VC urges Bengali women to follow ideals of Bangamata

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 8th August, 2022 07:39:26 PM
  • Print news

Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnessa Mujib Science and Technology University (BSFMSTU) established in Jamalpur celebrated the 92nd birth anniversary of Sheikh Fazilatunnessa Mujib, the great woman, in a colorful event on Monday.

The programme of the day started by paying floral tributes to the portraits of Bangabandhu and Bangamata installed in the campus. Later a colorful procession was organized.

Science Faculty Dean Professor Dr Sushant Kumar Bhattacharya, Registrar Syed Farooq Hossain, Director of Finance and Accounts Khan Md Olyar Rahman were also present during the occasion along with teachers, officials and students of the university.

Later, a discussion meeting on the life and work of Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib was held in the university premises. VC Professor Dr Syed Samsuddin Ahmed was present as the chief guest. Professor Dr Syed Samsuddin Ahmed highlighted the kindness and devotion in the characteristic features of Bangamata.

He said that Bangamata encouraged Bangabandhu to write his autobiography and rescuing the manuscript from the clutches of the occupying military junta during the fiery period of the freedom movement. In this way, Bangmata played an important role as a behind-the-scenes artisan in the establishment of independent Bangladesh by showing intelligence in all movements and struggles.

Under the chairmanship of registrar Syed Farooq Hossain, Melandah Upazila Parishad Chairman Engineer Kamruzzaman, Melandah Municipality Mayor Shafiq Zahedi Rabin, Upazila Awami League President Mohammad Ali Jinnah, General Secretary Md Jinnah and General Secretary of Bangabandhu Parishad Elias Uddin delivered their speech.

Assistant professor of social work department of the university AHM Mahbubur Rahman gave a welcome speech at the ceremony.

Among others, the university Assistant Registrar Md. Anisuzzaman, Section Officer Mirza Abdul Halim, the university unit Chhatra League Convener Kausar Ahmed Swadhin, Joint Convener Irfanul Haque, Mostafizur Rahman Sohag, Taiful Islam Palash, Mosharraf Hossain, and Intisar Ahmed Sani were also present on the occasion.