Tuesday, 4 October, 2022

ASEAN Dhaka Committee celebrates 55th ASEAN Day

  • Diplomatic Correspondent
  • 8th August, 2022 03:48:33 PM
  • Print news


The ASEAN Dhaka Committee (ADC) on Monday (Aug 8) celebrated the 55th anniversary of the founding of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) at the premises of Embassy of the of Indonesia in Gulshan.

Foreign Minister AK Momen graced the event as the Chief Guest by delivering a pre-recorded video speech marking the celebration of the 55th ASEAN Day.

Among those present were Haji Haris Haji Othman, High Commissioner of Brunei Darussalam, Heru Hartanto Subolo, Ambassador of Indonesia, Ms. Haznah Md Hashim, High Commissioner of Malaysia, Aung Kyaw Moe, Ambassador of Myanmar, Ms. Makawadee Sumitmor, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Thailand, Pham Viet Chien, Ambassador of Vietnam, Ms. Sheela Pillai, Head of Mission of the Singapore Consulate, Dhaka and Ms. Christian Hope V. Reyes, Chargé d’Affaires of the Embassy of Philippines.

The celebration started with the ASEAN Flag Raising Ceremony followed by ASEAN Food Festival, which reflects ASEAN unity and harmony based on cultural diversity.

In his speech, Aung Kyaw Moe, Ambassador of Myanmar, as the current Chair of ADC, highlighted the achievements of ASEAN throughout the past 55 years since its founding, the activities of ADC, cordial relations between ASEAN countries and Bangladesh as well as the cruciality of “ASEAN Unity” among the Member States.


Md. Najmul Huda, Director General (South East Asian Wing) for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs also spoke on the occasion.

Dean of Diplomatic Corps in Bangladesh, Archbishop George Kocherry, the Apostolic Nuncio (Vatican Ambassador), Ambassador of Japan to Bangladesh Ito Naoki and other foreign diplomats also attended the event.

Foreign Ministry officials, diplomats from ASEAN Member States, and members of Diplomatic Correspondent Association of Bangladesh (DCAB) also attended the celebration programme.

The ADC was established in the year 2014 and is comprised of eight ASEAN Missions based in Dhaka. The ADC chair is rotated every six months and is currently being chaired by the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.

Whereas ASEAN which was founded on August 8 in 1967 through the signing of ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) comprises ten Member States, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The celebration of the 55th ASEAN Day resumed physically after the 54th celebration in 2021 was held virtually under the challenges taken toll by COVID-19.

This was the first on-site event organised by the ADC after the relaxation of the pandemic preventive measure by the Bangladeshi government, which signals a fresh start to create a new high in the relations between ASEAN and Bangladesh.