Friday, 30 September, 2022

Shilpakala Academy honours 10 meritorious people in Rangpur

Shilpakala Academy honours 10 meritorious people in Rangpur

Ten praiseworthy persons have been awarded the District Shilpakala Academy Award for 2020 and 2021 for their special contribution in the development of art and culture of Bangladesh. 

The awards were presented in a colorful function held at the newly constructed District Shilpakala Academy auditorium on the Public Library ground in the city on Thursday. 

The Shilpakala Academy Award-2020 winners are: noted cultural personality Dr. Mofizul Islam Maantu, drama and theater personality Biplob Prasad, reciter and trainer Rezaiuna Safrin, singer Ziaul Haque Lipu and instrumental musician Subiresh Das Gupta. 

Besides, the Shilpakala Academy Award-2021 winners are Bhaoyaiya organizer AKM Mostafizur Rahman in folk culture, Ziaul Kabir in fine arts, Raushan Ara Soheli in vocal music and Sheila Mansur in drama and Solaiman Ali in instrumental music. 

Apart from awarding honours to the meritorious persons, medals and honourary checks were also distributed to the ten glorious persons. 

Deputy Commissioner Md. Asib Ahsan attended the function and distributed the awards as the chief guest with Additional Deputy Commissioner (Education and ICT) Md. Firuzul Islam in the chair. 

Superintendent of Police Md. Ferdous Ali Chowdhury and Chairman of Jatiya Mohila Sangstha for Rangpur attended the function as special guests. 

Cultural Officer at the District Shilpakala Academy Nujhat Tabassum Remu delivered a welcome speech. 

The Deputy Commissioner said it is the responsibility of all to respect virtuous people to inspire the new generations. 

"I am proud of having the opportunity to serve in Rangpur that has a rich cultural heritage and attraction. Local people are fond of literature and culture," he added.